El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame: a 501(c)(3) “Non-Profit Tax Exempt Public Charity”

Bufe C. Morrison championed the idea of the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame in 1988. The stated purpose of the organization is “to honor individuals for outstanding performance over a substantial period of time in the sport of baseball in the El Paso Area. A reward for dedication, service or playing ability.”

The mission of the organization is found in its commitment to honoring and fostering a love for the game of baseball and the people who make it great in El Paso.

Bufe C. Morrison served as the first President with Victor Fayant serving as Vice President and Leo Forti as Secretary. Inaugural Board Members Mike Barrueta and Bufe C. Morrison continue their service to our organization.

Andy Cohen is designated as the first person to be inducted. The “Original Class” of inductees also included Syd Cohen, Joe C. Hague, William C. “Nemo” Herrera, Jim Paul, Leo Forti, Gonzalo “Chalo” Garcia, Alberto “Beto” Mendez, Jim Ochoa and Bob Ingram.

Bufe Morrison – President (1988)
Victor Fayant – President (1989)
Leo Forti – President (1990)
Ray Sanchez – President (1991)
Jackie Harris – President (1992)
Ruben Torres – President (1993)
D. Joe Williams – President (1994, 2000 and 2001)
Bob Arnold – President (1995 and 1996)
Margarito Banales – President (1997, 1998, 1999, 2004 and 2005)
Marvin Nicchio – President (2002 and 2003)
Steve Enders – President (2006 and 2007)
Mike Barrueta – President (2008 and 2009)
Robert “Bob” Osborne – President (2010 and 2011)
Larry Hernandez – President (2012 and 2013)
Fernado Grado – President (2014)
Tommy Carrillo – President (2015 and 2016)
Leo Caraveo – President (2017, 2018 and 2019)
Bob Aguirre – President (2020)

#EL PASO STRONG – Final Nomination Deadline for Class of 2020 Is 4 PM MST Wednesday March 11, 2020 – Nomination Submission Info Below

MEMBER UPDATE: (Send us your events, your birthdays, anniversaries, your honors, your updates so we can share with our Hall of Famers) – – hit the “Contact” link

“From a Silver Past to a Golden Future – – We honor Excellence”
A special “thank you” to El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Past President and Class of 1990 Honoree Coach Bob Osborne for our slogan. Posted May 7, 2012

Ray Sanchez recognizes the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame in his article in El Paso INC by stating the following: “One of the most popular and well-planned Halls of Fame in El Paso is the one for baseball. I mean, the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame is so well organized it plans ahead, has a spectacular website and offers plenty of press releases”. Posted June 23, 2019

Nominations for the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2020 will close on Wednesday March 11, 2020 by 4 PM Mountain Standard Time. No nominations will be accepted after the deadline. Hit the baseball picture featuring the Batter at Home Plate and titled “Now Accepting Nominations for 2020” to download the 2020 Nomination Form. Items required for Submission Acceptance are listed below.

Nomination Packet (Due by 4 PM MST Wednesday March 11, 2020) includes:
1) Cover Page with Picture of Nominee
2) Completed Nomination Form
3) Bio of Nominee in Word Document Format – 250 Word Limit
4) Information supporting Nominee’s accomplishments ie. newspaper articles, college or professional clippings, testimonials, letters of recommendation, supporting documents
5) 10 Complete Packets for review by Nomination Committee due by 4 PM MST Wednesday March 11, 2020
If Nominee is advanced to Presentation Day, an additional 10 copies will be required for eligible Board of Directors to review, Nominator will be notified if Nominee advances to Presentation Day

For assistance or questions, contact Hall of Fame Past President and Class of 1999 Honoree Larry Hernandez at PapaBandit7@AOL.com 915.494.7710. Updated February 21, 2020

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame will hold their third Board of Directors meeting for 2020 Wednesday March 11 at the Wyndham Hotel Conference Center starting at 5:30 PM. Updated February 21, 2020

D-Bats West will become the official home for the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame when it opens, thank you to Andy Powers and his Dad, copy and paste the link below to read the story written by Maria Cortes Gonzalez in the El Paso Times
Updated February 21, 2020

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame is now accepting candidates for our 2020 College Player of the Year Honoree. Please submit the college player’s statistics and school attended for 2020 to El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2012 Honoree Dana Eisenga at deisenga@epcc.edu. Updated February 21, 2020

Thank you we had 4,622 views to our web site for the week ending Sunday February 16, 2020. Last week we had 4,831 views to our web site for the week ending Sunday February 9, 2020. Our El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame web site was launched in August of 2010. On Monday July 8, 2019 we had view # 1,500,000. We reached view # 1,000,000 on Sunday August 27, 2017. Our web site reached 500,000 views on Saturday February 27, 2016. “Thank You” to our Web Master Josh Rodgers for uploading our latest pictures and all photos onto our web site on a continuous basis since the inception in August 2010 of its launch. Updated February 16, 2020

El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Son/Father Duo Member and Class of 2013 Honoree Frank Castillo received approval for a park to be named in his honor by the El Paso City Council at their meeting on Tuesday January 21, 2020. Nate Ryan with KVIA Channel 7 Sports did a story that aired Tuesday January 21, 2020. Hit the title in the story to advance to the link for the KVIA site and story by Nate Ryan Channel 7 Sports:

Posted January 21, 2020

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Board of Directors voted to honor our Founder and Inaugural President Bufe C. Morrison by naming the annual El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame “Senior Player of the Year Award” as a tribute to his contributions and ongoing support. Posted May 6, 2015

Effective Dec. 2, 2013, The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame has been granted exempt status from the Texas franchise tax and the sales and use tax as 501(c)(3) organization. The exemption does not extend to the hotel occupancy tax. Posted July 2, 2014

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame received notice from the Internal Revenue Service that our application has been reviewed and accepted and is now registered as a 501(c)(3) “Non-Profit Tax Exempt Public Charity” in accordance with its Tax Code. All donations to our organization are tax deductible as designated by the IRS tax laws. A special “thank you” to our legal counsel Alan Gluth and our CPA Kirk Patterson for their guidance in our application and its process. Posted June 10, 2014

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame was proud to partner with Warner Brothers for a preview screening of the movie “42” about the legendary Jackie Robinson on Wednesday April 10. The City of El Paso declared Wednesday April 10 as “Jackie Robinson 42 Day”. The event completely sold out of all available seats. Posted April 10, 2013

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame wants to continue to include You in our communication. We ask that all of our Hall of Fame inductees send us your name, phone number and email address so that we may update our records. Thank you in advance. Any verifiable additions to “Inductee” bios are also welcome.

Please hit the “Contact” link at the top of our “Home Page” to send us your information or questions