2015 Banquet

A phenomenal job of leadership by our President Tom Carrillo provided the beginning and Mrs. Paul Strelzin flanked by her 3 daughters closed the Induction Banquet with a short well prepared and heart felt speech which brought tears and closed with a lengthy standing ovation to conclude our 2015 Ceremony.

A special “thank you” to Becca Carrillo, Bob and Susie Aguirre, Raul and Alicia Real Y Vasquez, Fernie Grado, Gilbert De La Rosa, Gaby Hernandez, Barbara Lopez, Javier Cuevas, David Medina, L & F Distributors and Fred Loya Insurance and all of our Presenters, Inductees, Honorees and Sponsors.

Our 2015 El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Week began on Saturday August 22 with a “Meet and Greet” event for our Inductees and Honorees
Tuesday August 25 the El Paso City Council issued a Proclamation proclaiming this week “El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Week” honoring our Members and our history
Thursday August 27, we attended a Chihuahuas game and our Class of 2015 Inductees threw out the first pitch
On Friday August 28, our Hall of Fame hosted its 2nd Annual Golf Tournament at the Horizon Country Club
Saturday August 29 our Hall of Fame Induction Banquet at the Centennial Club on Ft. Bliss. This evening we celebrated the great memories and legacies of our Inductees and Honorees. A night of laughter, tears and cheers, fellowship and familiar faces seen far too infrequently. Our Baseball Community embraced one another for their heroics on the field and their “Love for the Game.” Thank you we reported ticket sales of 355 which is a current day record and possibly second only to the 1988 Inaugural Banquet which saw twice the number of Inductees recognized and celebrated.

The El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Welcomes our Class of 2015 Inductees: Paul Strelzin; Jerry Valdez; Taylor Paul; Juan Zaragoza and Leo Caraveo

2015 Honorees are:
The “Bufe Morrison” Senior Players of the Year: Juan Zaragoza and Antonio Briones

The “Nemo Herrera” High School Coach of the Year: Juan “Choppy” Orozco – Coronado High School

The “Joe Hague” High School Player of The Year: Justin Maese – Ysleta High School

The “Syd and Andy Cohen” Collegiate Players of the Year
Robert Spencer Morehead State University – Chapin High School
Joseph Camacho Alabama State University – Franklin High School

Youth Coach of the Year: Raul Robles

“El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Board of Directors Special Recognition Award”
Jimmy Melendez Riverside High School Coach Retiring (30 plus years)
David Aragon Ysleta High School Coach (30 plus years)
Tom Monsen Youth and High School Baseball (30 plus years)

Pictures of the 2015 Banquet can be viewed by clicking on on a thumbnail below 🙂

There are lots of pictures, please allow time for the page to finish loading before clicking on an image.