Larry Hernandez

Inducted in 1999
Started Coaching Youth Baseball in 1971
Boys Baseball of El Paso Board Member 1984 – 1990
Elected Commissioner of Boys Baseball 1985, 1986 and 1988 – – Program had over 1800 players in El Paso
Served as “Denny, Blake and Brian Doyle” Baseball School Regional Director from 1991 to 1999
Co-Chairman with Ramiro Guzman of effort to start baseball program at El Paso Community College which started play in 1996
Started Hirby Pest Control (1978) and Bandit Baseball (1989) organizations
Boys Baseball of El Paso City Champions 1990
AABC Texas State Champions 1984, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999
Super Series State Champions 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002
USSSA State Champions 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005
Super Series National Regional Champions 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002
Triple Crown National Regional Champions 1998, 1999, 2003, 2004
Triple Crown World Series National Finalist 1998 – – Steamboat Springs Colorado (84 Teams Competed)
USSSA World Series National Finalist 2000 – – Broken Arrow Oklahoma (104 Teams Competed)
Super Series World Series National Finalist 2002 – – Little Rock Arkansas (96 Teams Competed)
Boys Baseball of El Paso Coach of the Year in 1990
AABC National Regional Coach of the Year 1997
Triple Crown National Coach of the Year 1998
USSSA World Series Coach of the Year 2000
Super Series World Series Coach of the Year 2002
189 Bandit Players have been inducted to their respective High School’s National Honor Society
172 Bandit Players have played college baseball at all levels
33 Bandit Players have earned Collegiate All Conference Honors
16 Bandit Players named to Texas High School All State Baseball Teams
14 of his Players have played on El Paso High School teams that have reached the Texas High School Final Four Championships
9 Bandit Players drafted by Major League Baseball
5 of his players later became Head Baseball High School Coaches
His Hirby teams had a 47 game consecutive league winning streak going over 3 years without losing an AABC league game
His teams won tournament championship in Texas, Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico
In 1989, his Bandit team won the first baseball game played at Champions Sportsplex and captured league and tournament crowns going undefeated
His 1993 Bandit team was the first team outside the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex to capture the “Texas Baseball Classic” in Ft. Worth
His Bandit team in 1998 won 53 consecutive league and tournament games and went 30-0 in league play
In 38 years of Spring baseball his teams won the league championship 35 times
10 of his teams captured league championships with undefeated seasons
His teams won 1,452 wins and 264 losses with a winning percentage of 85%
Member El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Board of Directors
President of the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame in 2012 and 2013